Torn Bits & Pieces

Torn Bits & Pieces by Deborah O'Toole is a collection of poetry which includes Black Eyes, Collective Obsessions (poetic rendering based on the fictional saga of the same name), Confusion & Mr. Barrett, Dark Blue Moon, Drama, Edward, Gentle Creatures, Her Satanic Majesty, In the Town in the Time, Intoxication, Moonstruck Madness, My Name is Called Disturbance, Queen Anne Lack-Head, Religion, Sad Passing, Siembamba, Silver Lining, Striking with a Spirit's Knife, The Spell, Thing (A Nightmare), Year of Blood, You're Just a Boy and many more.


Whenever I think

of what we did

my skin turns red,

and my neck stands out.

He said he was drunk,

that wasn't so.

He told me things

he didn't mean.

I didn't fall

for his horrible lines.

I kept a distance,

between here and there.

We came so close

and now I can't bear

to even think of you.

I couldn't talk to you,

or look at you.

I wonder

if it will ever be the same.

We were once friends,

now I'm not sure.

What I feel, I guess,

is we'll just go back

the other way,

and I'll always hope

we'll stop to stay.

I can't tell you what I feel,

the pain is still too hard.

You almost took me,

the first you would have been.

I couldn't do it,

the time wasn't right.

Maybe there will be a day

when it will all be okay.

I'll see you there,

and I'll be here.

If it ever changes,

I don't think it could.

It's the best way

to just remain friends.



Edward ©1979-2016 Deborah O'Toole. All rights reserved.

TORN BITS & PIECES ©Deborah O'Toole. All rights reserved.

Poems and other content in "Torn Bits & Pieces" may not be reproduced in whole or in part without written permission from the author. Any resemblance to actual persons living or dead in prose is purely coincidental.